Instagram is one of the most popular social media apps, with millions of users worldwide. Instagram allows users to share photos, stories, and other content with their followers via private or public accounts. The pictures, videos, and information that user posts on their Instagram account are entirely under their control. A user can change or update information on their profile at any time.

You can archive a post you’ve shared on your Instagram profile to remove it from your profile and make it invisible to your followers and other Instagram users. When you Unarchive a post, all of its likes and comments return to your profile.

Using the Instagram Archive

There is a section in the Instagram archive for stories, live streams, and posts. Stories and live streams are automatically saved, whereas saving posts is an opt-in feature that must be used manually. Unlike other systems, older posts are not automatically archived.

To archive a post on Instagram:

  1. Choose the post you want to store.
  2. Select the three-dot menu icon at the top of the page.
  3. Select the Archive option.How to Archive and Unarchive Your Post on Instagram
How to Access the Instagram Archive

When you archive a post, it stays there until you manually delete it or un-archive it. Instagram Archive is divided into three sections: posts, stories, and lives.

To access the Instagram archive:

  1. Launch Instagram then navigate to your profile page.
  2. Select the menu (three bars) icon in the top right.
  3. Select archive to view your archived posts on the Archive page.
  4. By default, the archive will display your automatically archived stories first. Tap on the downward-facing arrow next to “Stories Archive” at the top and select either option to view lives or posts.How to Archive and Unarchive Your Post on Instagram

As previously stated, the archive is only for you and is not accessible to the general public.

Unarchive Instagram posts

It is very simple to bring a post out of hibernation and re-add it to your profile. Simply go into your Instagram archive and select the option to display on your profile again.

  1. Launch Instagram then navigate to your profile page.
  2. Select the menu (three-bar) icon at the top right.
  3. Select Archive.
  4. Tap on the downward-facing arrow next to “Stories Archive,” at the top.How to Archive and Unarchive Your Post on Instagram
  5. Then select “Posts Archive.”
  6. Select the post you want to un-archive and select the three-dot menu icon.
  7. Select Show on Profile at the top of the popup box.How to Archive and Unarchive Your Post on Instagram

The post will be made live and publicly accessible once more.

You have the option of deleting your archived post rather than making it public again. Simply select Delete rather than Show on Profile and confirm your selection in Step 7 above. Your post will then be permanently deleted and unrecoverable. That isn’t always a bad thing!