How to Permanently Delete Instagram Account—If you no longer want to use Instagram, there is an option to permanently delete your account. Keep in mind, however, that after your account is deleted, your username will be up for grabs. That means, if it’s taken, you can’t create a new account with the same name.

You may also want to back up your content before deleting your account. if that’s the case, refer to this official guide by Instagram for further details.

Once you’re done backing up your account information, you can proceed with your account deletion by following these steps:

  1. Log in to your Instagram account on a desktop or a mobile browser. Much like deactivation, permanent account deletion cannot be done within the app.
  2. Visit Instagram’s Delete Your Account page. Select a reason from the drop-down menu of the Why are you deleting your account? field.
  3. You will be prompted to re-enter your password after you’ve finished step 2. Then click Delete [your username] to finalize removal.
  4. To remove a different account, click the username located on the top-right corner, select the gear icon next to Edit Profile to Log Out of your current account.
  5. Log back in as the username you want to remove and follow the same instructions above.

It will take at least one month after your request for all of your data to be permanently wiped. At that point, you will no longer be able to retrieve your information. However, the full removal might take up to three months after it starts. Copies of your data might remain in Instagram’s backup storage and are subject to Instagram’s Data Policy and Terms of Use.

We hope this article is useful for you. Let us know your thoughts.